notesport.blogg.se

Gravel or endurance bike
Gravel or endurance bike







Personally I am not a fan of not being able to lock out the future shock and if you were doing pure road that would become super annoying. So out of all of these I would pick the Roubaix since the 2X11 Ultegra and 28C will be great for the road so I would look for a bike with big tires clearance in the 32C range at least The Cannondale is the first true gravel bike you listed with a SRAM APEX 1 drive train but is paired with some really odd tires in 25C tires. It depends on what price you are getting the Roubaix Expert at since it's a pretty awesome bike with Ultegra and is more road oriented with slicker 28C tires. So for the type of money you are about to spend I can just automatically kick out the Diverge Sport since Tiagra at $2100 is just a rip off. I looked at Roubaix and Diverge and I will admit the shock system they have is cool but both lines IMO are highly overpriced.

gravel or endurance bike gravel or endurance bike

A road bike would be faster, better for group rides, and be a pure sport bike but would obviously wouldn't be as great on anything but smooth pavement. I live in NYC so really the need for a gravel bike is for potholes, curbs, occasional packed trails, and more comfort. While I don't live in Wisconsin I was debating over a gravel bike or road bike a year ago. What I think is bad about and 11-42 cassette systems it that the gears are spaced wider than you might want, the range is less than if you had a compact double with an 11-34 or 11-36 cassette, and the replacement cassette, which is a wear item, costs as much as a low-end bike. I actually think 1X is kind of silly and prefer 2X myself, but it's overly simplistic so say that it can't give you the high end or the range of conventional old-fashioned 2X systems. Then with a 11-42 cassette, your lowest gear is lower than with a compact double low gear of 34 chainring with 28 cog, and way lower than with a classic 39T small ring and a 28 cog. You can get a 50T narrow-wide if that's what you want. You also won't have as good a low end, but in the absence of mountains that may not matter. If you aspire to fast road rides the 1X drivetrain may not age well you're giving up a fair bit on the top end of the gearing (50/11 is about a shift and a half faster than 42/11). Looking forward to getting some outside perspective on this. Am I also sacrificing a lot of speed/climbing ability if I go with the Synapse 1x over the Roubaix? I live in Wisconsin, and while we don't have any mountains, we do have our fair share of rolling hills. I guess one question I have, is will I regret going with the 1x if I plan to do mostly road riding (including centuries and other distance rides)? It's just really hard to say after a 15 minute test ride. I loved the way it rode, and I was a huuuuge fan of the SRAM 1x gearing (I had never tried SRAM before). Out of all these, the Cannondale gave me the biggest wow factor. Specialized Roubaix Expert (my LBS has a pretty killer deal on one of these on the floor right now in my size)

gravel or endurance bike

I've test ridden about 12 bikes so far and these have been my favorite: I'd also like to get into some touring with my dad 3-5 years down the road, and a gravel bike seems more well suited for that. I honestly won't be using it on gravel trails all that much, but I do like the idea of having that option if I want. I've narrowed down my choice of style to a road endurance or a gravel bike.

gravel or endurance bike

I notice after I hit 20-25 miles on my hybrid it starts to get super uncomfortable. Fast forward to this year and I've started to get way more into wanting to go faster and for longer distances. I've been riding a hybrid (Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc) for the past 6 years and it's been a great bike, especially for the 10-15 mile rides I was mostly going on. It's a massive investment for me and I don't want to regret it. I told myself I wasn't going to make one of these posts but I'm starting to get super overwhelmed about buying a new bike.









Gravel or endurance bike